Alberta Amateur Speed Skating Association  |  Tel: 403-220-7911  |  Email.  | Address: 2500 University Drive NW, Calgary, AB T2N 1N4

 facebook  twitter  instagram  mini email

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1

The 2018 Alberta Winter Games will be held in the Wood Buffalo Region (the area in and around Fort McMurray), February 16th-19th. The Speed Skating event at AWG will be short track speed skating and will be held in the community of Fort Mackay. Click here for an AWG promo video.

Global Television will provide a live webcast of the whole Opening Ceremony on Feb. 16th, 6:45 to 8pm (MDT). Save the link below so you don't miss the excitement:

Let all your friends and family know they can watch the Ceremonies from anywhere in Alberta.

It's Games Time! - See you in Wood Buffalo

Alberta Sport Connection "Supporting Dreams"

Click here to access the 2018 Alberta Winter Games web site

Live and individual results:

Click on the race titles below for full results:

Click here for Detailed Results, all Age Categories

 Final Individual Event Results:

Click here for Alberta 2018 Winter Games Flickr Photos

the rink is ready for AWG 2018.jpg AWG welcome runner on floor 2018.jpg


Speed Skaters represent Alberta regional zones based on their residency (home address). An AWG Zone Map is available here: 

The AWG Speed Skating Technical Package outlines the age categories and basic representation information. T2T1 (11/12 year olds) and T2T2 (13/14 year olds) are the speed skating age categories.

Click here to download the 2018 AWG Technical Package

Each separate Alberta Zone determines how they will choose skaters to represent their zone. Most zones typically use times from eligible competitions to determine reps; some zones do not have enough interested and eligible skaters to fill the quota, so everyone gets to go! We will post more information about the zone criteria as we receive it.

Zone 1 - by times (refer to the Lethbridge and Medicine Hat Speed Skating Clubs)
Zone 2 - by times (refer to the Banff/Canmore Speed Skating Club)
Zone 3 - to be determined (refer to the Calgary Speed Skating Association and the Calgary Grizzlies Speed Skating Club)
Zone 4 - to be determined (refer to the Rocky Mountain House and the Red Deer Lions Speed Skating Clubs)
Zones 5 and 6 - to be determined (refer to the Edmonton Speed Skating Association)
Zone 7 - to be determined (refer to the Lloydminster Border Blades Speed Skating Club)
Zone 8 - to be determined; criteria will include attendance, results and attitude as guidelines (refer to the Grande Prairie Peace Wapiti and the Peace River Northern Lites Speed Skating Clubs)

For information please contact Mike Marshall at 403-210-8914 or at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..