Skaters Overview


Speed skaters in Alberta are required to be registered with a club in order to compete.  Alberta Club information is available at this link and club liaison with SSA is through the VP Club and Membership Development ( and the AASSA Skater Development Committee (see below). Competition officials are important to speed skating athlete development and competitions. Officials are also associated with clubs (

Alberta Speed Skating Provincial Team members are developing and elite competitive skaters. Click here to see the names of Provincial Team athletes and Alberta athletes associated with national programs. The SSA Skater Development Committee manages Alberta Provincial Team criteria, athlete conduct and related items.

We are always looking for Alberta Skater involvement on committees and with other initiatives. Contact if you have questions, comments or would like to participate in SSA activities!

2020-2021 AASSA Skater Development Committee - to be provided soon!

AASSA Chair – Marc Poulin,