Alberta Amateur Speed Skating Association  |  Tel: 403-220-7911  |  Email.  | Address: 2500 University Drive NW, Calgary, AB T2N 1N4

 facebook  twitter  instagram  mini email

  • 1


2019 CWG Test Event: AB CWG Short Track Team Selection #2 & Open ST Event, Red Deer Oct. 13-14, 2018

Organized by Alberta Amateur Speed Skating Association (AASSA)                        

Dates: October 13-14, 2018 (Saturday / Sunday)

Location: Gary W. Harris Canada Games Centre, Red Deer College, 100 College Blvd, Red Deer, AB T4N 5H5

Sanctioned By: Speed Skating Canada (SSC) and Alberta Amateur Speed Skating Association (AASSA); as a Canada Winter Games Test Event, senior officials will be assigned by Speed Skating Canada

Click Here for Detailed Schedule

Detailed Results


Hosted By:

Alberta Speed Skating and the Canada Winter Games Organizing Committee, with support from the Red Deer Central Lions Speed Skating Club.

Registration support provided by the Calgary Speed Skating Association.


Upcoming Officials Courses

More details will be added to the Officials Courses page, when available:

1) Red Deer, October 12 (evening), 13 & 14, 2018: Level 2 Timer Clinic

To be run in conjunction with the CWG Test Event - the Alberta Short Track CWG Qualification and ST Open events held at the Gary W. Harris CWG Centre, Red Deer College.

Cost: $50

Course Instructors: Hugh O'Neil and John Thorpe

Click on this link to register

2) Calgary, Level 1 Officials, date TBD

Officials Courses

More details will be added to this web site, when available:

Level 2 Starter Clinic, Calgary Olympic Oval, March 9-10, 2019

Click here for more information and to Register for the March 9-10, 2019 Starter Clinic



The SSC Red Book Article O3-102 identifies Level 3 Referees and Starters in addition to Level 3 Competition Stewards and Meet Coordinators as eligible to conduct Level 1 Officials’ clinics.

The following Alberta Officials are currently eligible to instruct SSC Level 1 Officials' courses. Their home locations are indicated in brackets, but these Level 3 Officials may conduct clinics anywhere in the province.

Brad Bates (Calgary)
Kim Bates (Calgary)
Nicole Cooney (Lethbridge)
Stephen Estabrooks (Edmonton)
Tim Hartel (Calgary)
Bob Irvine (Calgary)
Tom Lipsett (Edmonton)
Claire Loberg (Peace Wapiti)
John Muller (Lethbridge)
Myron Pearman (Red Deer)
Greg Planert (Calgary)
Marc Poulin (Calgary)
Dave Thomson (Calgary)
Bruce Thorpe (Calgary)
Melanie Winters (Lethbridge)
Sharon Zorman (Calgary)