Alberta Amateur Speed Skating Association  |  Tel: 403-220-7911  |  Fax. 403-220-9226  |  Email.  | Address: 2500 University Drive NW, Calgary, AB T2N 1N4

 facebook  twitter  instagram  mini email

  • 1


Silver Skate Festival, February 10-11, 2018, Edmonton

 silver skate festival 1k sprint 1 of 1

Hawrelak Park Edmonton, February 10 and 11

The Silver Skate Festival invites you to skate the 1 km, 5km, 10km and/or 1 hour Skate Races on the 5-hectare lake at Hawrelak Park.

Outdoor Long Track racing on a 1km loop. Natural ice base with Zamboni treatment on top.

These races are among our festival's signature events and have their roots in the Europe - especially in the Netherlands, where long-distance speed skating is popular. Skaters use frozen lakes, canals, rivers, and ovals (both indoor and outdoor), and compete in races ranging from 10km to 200km.

February 10, 2018
8:00am Chip Timer Assignment
9:00am 1 Hour Skate Race
10:45am 5km Skate Race
11:15am 1km Skate Race
11:30am 1km All Comers Skate Race
1:00pm Awards Ceremony

February 11, 2018
8am Chip Timer Assignment
9:00am 10km Skate Race
11:00am Awards Ceremony

2:00 pm Kortebaan

1:00-4:00pm Speed Skating Try It


The Dutch Kortebaan (pronounced “kor-te-ban”) is a traditional speed-skating sprint race held on outdoor ice. Historically, it was one of the first formats used to declare speed-skating champions in Holland and winners were usually awarded prize money – and a ham. In our version of the event, pairs of skaters race down a straight, 160m route on frozen Hawrelak Park Lake. One by one, skaters are eliminated until the final two compete in a sudden-death race. The final skater left standing wins a ham and bragging rights.

Registration is online through the Silver Skate Festival website.

Next price hike is February 1st (fee goes up by $5 or $10)

Same day registration available, but costs more and needs to be 90 minutes before your event of choice begins.

Full details about the Silver Skate Festival are available here:

explore edmonton silver skate festival

Canadian Age Class Long Track Championships, Feb. 10-11, 2018, Quebec City

Click here for CACLT Full Results

* Of Note: Alberta Teams won almost all of the Team Pursuit races!! Nicely done everyone!

The Anneau de glace Gaétan-Boucher in Quebec was the site for the 2018 Age Class Long Track Championships (CACLT) -- the last national meet to be held at this great outdoor oval. This meet was for pre-qualified girls aged 11-14 and boys aged 12-15. Each Branch (province or territory) was allocated a maximum number of entries and in Alberta, our skaters needed to prequalify at appropriate meets (e.g. Edmonton, Calgary, Red Deer sanctioned (official) LT meets from Sept. 2017 to January 21, 2018). Selection was based on times in each of the age categories (see meet information, below).

CACLT Dates: Saturday, February 10th and Sunday, February 11th, 2018

Participating Alberta Athletes include:

T2T 11 Females: Alexander Volstad (Calgary SSA); Maya Leuders (Calgary Grizzlies); Darby Beeson (Grizzlies); Linnea Bains (Grizzlies); Sophie McFarlane  (Edmonton); [Mikka Eaves - did not compete (Lethbridge)]

T2T 12: Annika Johnston (CSSA); [Jayva Johnston (Lloydminster)], Erin Padbury (Edmonton) and Cecile Ferraro (CSSA)

T2T 13: Ivy Bao (CSSA); Sarah Feschuk (CSSA); Elliot Kellough (Grizzlies)

T2T 14: Jasmine Belisle (Lethbridge); [Mia Bantle (Lloydminster)]; Zoe Lueders (Grizzlies)

T2T 12 Males: Max Poulin (Grizzlies); Matthew Medlicott (Grizzlies), Andre Erasmus (CSSA), Joshua Read (Grizzlies), Jared Manzo (Grizzlies)

T2T 13: Males: Yankun Zhao (Grizzlies); and Cody James Miller (Edmonton)

T2T 14: Males: Max Krabben (Rocky Mountain House); [Wesley O’Brien (Grizzlies)] and Kaleb Jacobsen (Grizzlies)

T2T 15: Males: Kaeden Witkowski (Medicine Hat); Joshua Kowal (Grizzlies) and Logan Toblan (CSSA)

Hotel information is in the meet information

Click here for the 2018 CACLT information and registration form

Contact Mike Marshall at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.

CACLT sign Edmtn 2017


Canadian Junior Long Track Championships, Feb. 2-4, 2018, Fort St. John, BC

The 2018 Canadian Junior Long Track Championships will be held indoors at the Pomeroy Sports Centre in Fort St. John, BC, February 2-4. These Junior Championships are open to age-appropriate skaters who meet minimum time standards (see below). Speed Skating Canada will be simultaneously hosting the Junior LT Championships with Canada Cup 3 on the same dates in Fort St. John. Top Junior skaters will be chosen at this competition by SSC to represent Canada at the World Junior Championships. Alberta Skaters, Connor Howe (pictured below) and Brooklyn McDougall represented Canada at last year's World Juniors.

Eligible Skater Categories, with appropriate time standards: Junior A, B and C2
- per High Performance Bulletin 181 – Selection Process (click here)
- times will be verified at  

Registration Deadline: Jan. 26, 2018, 16:00 PST

Click here for the 2018 Canadian Junior LT Championships information and registration form

Contact Mike Marshall at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.

Connor start line 2 WorldJr Feb2017


ABLT - Alberta Indoor Long Track Meet Jan 13-14, 2018

ailtThe Calgary Speed Skating Association (CSSA) hosted ABLT, the Alberta Open Indoor Long Track Competition on January 13-14, 2018.

Click here for ABLT Results

The Results are also available on the CSSA web site:

- Olympic Style racing for Junior, Senior and Masters' Skaters
- Olympic Style / Mass Start for T2T Skaters 
- Mass Start for L2T, Fundamental and Active-Start Skaters

Click here for Meet Announcement
Meet Information Package (including Safety items) Note: The 2018 ABLT was a 2-Day meet this year (Saturday and Sunday only).