Alberta Amateur Speed Skating Association  |  Tel: 403-220-7911  |  Fax. 403-220-9226  |  Email.  | Address: 2500 University Drive NW, Calgary, AB T2N 1N4

 facebook  twitter  instagram  mini email

  • 1


Job Opportunities

Alberta Team Mission Staff for the 2019 Canada Winter Games

Team Alberta is accepting Mission Staff applications for the 2019 Canada Winter Games. Please note that we have an online application form as an option for applying. Both online and hard copy applications are available on our website at

A reminder that the deadline to apply is Friday, March 30, 2018.

If you have any questions or require any additional information please contact Pat Lechelt at 587-989-4025, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or Cam Berwald, Assistant Chef de Mission, 587-989-3978,This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Manitoba Speed Skating Association: Provincial Development Team Speed Skating Coach and Sport Development Coordinator

MSSA requires the talents and skills of a qualified Speed Skating Coach and facilitator to be responsible for programing and coaching of the Provincial Development Team in the province of Manitoba along with administration and sport development initiatives. This part time, seasonal position is expected to support MSSA’s pursuits in Long Term Participation Athlete Development Programming (LTPAD) and to guide the province’s speed skating athletes to the Provincial Team; in addition, the incumbent would be responsible for the coordination and ongoing development of the coach’s pool throughout our great province. This position is subject to self-directed job discretion and authority to perform and manage primary job functions. There is guidance and reporting relationships to both the Board of Directors and the Executive Director.

Click here for a Full Job Description

Please send Electronic letters of application and CV as well as proof of credentials prior to April 1 st, 2018: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

*Position start date July 1st, 2018

*Only applicants screened for interview will be contacted

Elbow River Casino Aug. 19-20, 2018

The Alberta Liquor and Gaming Commission (AGLC) allocates casino volunteer assignments to interested charitable and non-profit organizations in an effort to support sport and other organizations in the province. Alberta Speed Skating is fortunate to have another casino on August 19-20, 2018 at the Elbow River Casino in Calgary.The funds raised by our casino will be used to support grass-roots speed skating programs across the province. We require approximately 45 volunteers to cover shifts over our two-day alloted casino period.

Click here for the Aug. 19-20, 2018 AASSA - Elbow River Casino Sign-Up Sheet

The Volunteer Roles are straight-forward and do not require experience. Volunteers must, however, be at least 18 years of age. We engage professional casino advisors to oversee all of the shifts, and these advisors will provide training and guidance to volunteers as required.

Refreshments and free parking are provided to volunteers. AASSA will also provide some travel hotel cost reimbursement for out-of-town volunteers. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.

Click here for the Elbow River Casino Volunteer Information
Click here for Volunteer Parking Information

Refs showing new racers how to line up ESSANov2017 Smaunder

Stephen Maunder Photo 2017

West Edmonton Mall Fun Meet, March 24, 2018

8587184055 0c342fbbed z8587556334 f569edab84 zThe Edmonton Speed Skating Association is proud to invite skaters from across the province to their annual West Edmonton Mall meet. A short track meet 100m oval on an NHL-sized ice surface at West Edmonton Mall's Ice Palace. Skaters choose three distances that they want to race during the event. Relays and other fun races will also be in the program. The number and type of these events will depend on registration and time.  The most fun on ice you'll have all year.

WEM Registration Form 2018

WEM summary sheet 2018

8587561651 9f2ef409a5 z


2018 Arctic Winter Games (ArWG), March 18-24, 2018

The 2018 Arctic Winter Games will be hosted in the South Slave area of the Canadian North West Territories, March 18-24. Speed skating will be a short track event held at the Fort Smith Centennial Arena in the community of Fort Smith.

The Games theme is Find Your Power and the ArWG 2018 web site is:

Eligible Alberta skaters come from the two most northern Speed Skating Clubs, Peace Wapiti (Grande Prairie) and Northern Lights (Peace River).

We will provide results and other information when these items are available. Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as needed.

ArWG 2018 mascot Serena Ryder Be the Ones poster ArWG 2018


The Arctic Winter Games Speed Skating Technical Package is available here: